Book Club: Launch and Book Reveal

I have thought long and hard on what book I wanted to read for this month, and seeing how I’m going to D.C. in less than two weeks, I thought there is no better way to get this Book Club thing started than with Jennifer Chiaverini’s Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker.

Mrs_Lincoln's Dressmaker

From Amazon’s website, “In Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, novelist Jennifer Chiaverini presents a stunning account of the friendship that blossomed between Mary Todd Lincoln and her seamstress, Elizabeth “Lizzie” Keckley, a former slave who gained her professional reputation in Washington, D.C. by outfitting the city’s elite. Keckley made history by sewing for First Lady Mary Todd Lincoln within the White House, a trusted witness to many private moments between the President and his wife, two of the most compelling figures in American history.”

So the story is about this lady…

ElizabethKeckley_MTL

Elizabeth Keckley, who is the dressmaker of this lady…

MTL

Mary Todd Lincoln, who is the wife of this guy…

Abraham_Lincoln_O-116_by_Gardner,_1865-crop

Abraham Lincoln, who was our 16th President.

Are you catching on?

Keckley is known for her amazing gowns that she handcrafted for MTL; one of them is still in the Smithsonian museum that I will mostly definitely be checking out soon.

ElizabethKeckley_dress1

Gorgeous!

I am intrigued by historical novels, especially those of people with a little “royalty.” There’s something about historical drama that sucks me in. I love it! My book should be in today and then I will be diving right in to see into the life of this extraordinary woman.

I hope you’ll join me.

natalieblue

Leave a Reply

