Watermelon Yarn Wreath

So tonight was my first get-together since I started the “Let’s Get Crafty” group and we had a lot of fun. We had five girls, which was just enough. We made a typical yarn wreath with felt flowers and I think the girls all enjoyed it. I took a ton of photos, but here’s a few from our night.

04

08

02

01

06

05

09

07

I told my mom not to worry about food and just to carve a watermelon, and what does she do?

03

Go all out, as usual. Thank God for mommas.

And here’s the final photo of all of the girls and our wreaths. They did such a great job!

10

11


I decided I would hang mine right inside my door on my window mirror. It’s a nice little summery touch to my entry way.

12

13

14

15


Directions for the watermelon yarn wreath:

Watermelon Yarn Wreath

This wreath was really simple. All you need is two colors of green yarn, a dark and light, pink and black felt, a Styrofoam wreath (mine is a 10″), and some hot glue.

Start by wrapping the yarn around the wreath.

…Tick, tock, tick, tock…

After about an hour of doing that, or when your wreath is the thickness that you like, it’s time to embellish it! Next, you’ll cut a bajillion circles out of pink felt. Fold one of the circles in half, and then in half again. Glue a line of hot glue on the crease and then add it to your wreath. Do this a bunch of times until you’re satisfied. Throw on some “seeds” with pieces of black felt cut into triangles. Add a simple loop for a hanger and you’re all set!


The great thing about this is, is that the possibilities are endless! Yarn wreaths are a lot of fun and great for every season and holiday. And they make perfect gifts, too!

I’m looking forward to my next group meeting! We’re making String Art!

Signature

One thought on “Watermelon Yarn Wreath

Leave a Reply

