Memorial Day 2014: Remembering The Fallen

120528-D-BW835-360

This Memorial Day will be a little different for me. As you all know, I traveled to Washington, D.C. a couple of months ago and not only did I earn an even more utmost respect for this nation than I already had, I learned a lot about the men and women who fought to keep it a free and safe place for us to live. Among the things I saw, I also visited the sacred Arlington Cemetery, where I witnessed the Changing of the Guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Solider which overlooked thousands and thousands of little white stones, most of which were engraved “Unknown”.

Arlington3

This is me, on top of the hill at the Arlington House. I love this view.

Arlington

Unknown

Chills went down my spine every time I saw another one. Unknown, Unknown, Unknown. These were men and women who sacrificed their lives and yet we don’t even know their name. It hurts to think of the families that never got to see their loved ones laid to rest. Imagine walking around a cemetery thinking, “One of these is my dad.”

Arlington2

Kennedy

This is President Kennedy’s gravesite, along with the Eternal Flame that burns behind him. President  Kennedy once said, “Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of liberty.”

So on this Memorial Day, whether you are serving BBQ (which is what I’ll be doing) or spending time with your family, stop for a second and remember all of these women and men who fight for our country everyday. And for those who have died for our country, we thank you. We honor you for your selfless sacrifice to keep us safe from harm.

Signature

Leave a Reply

