Bucket List: Istanbul, Turkey

Istanbulskyline

I’ve longed to visit Istanbul since I first learned of the Hagia Sophia my freshman year of college. When I see its lavishing architecture and gorgeous interiors my heart yearns for more. I have high expectations of Istanbul and I’m sure it would not disappoint.

Istanbul_turkey

tumblr_mh6ueu7Coo1rhpd0ao1_1280

I don’t know if it’s the colorful life and culture, the craftsmanship of the buildings or intriguing ancient history that I love more about Istanbul. I just love it all. I can imagine music playing throughout the Grand Bazaar and Turkish dancers in the streets. Inviting smells from the little restaurants and pottery and jewelry as far as your eye can see. Striking views of the ocean and terra cotta cities along the horizon.

o-que-comprar-no-grand-bazaar-de-istambul

AntiqueIznikBowl

Did I mention the pottery? Oh my word, it’s beautiful! I could replace my entire dish set with this unbelievable works of art.

Istanbul-Blue-mosque-interior-613

inside a resturant

city-lights-restaurant

I think my biggest problem would be the food. I would be very reluctant to taste Turkish foods, but I’m not saying I wouldn’t. I’m not a huge fan of trying new things, especially ethnic foods. I would definitely have to research that a little more, but I think I could manage.

AyaSofia

Ahhhh, the beautiful Hagia Sophia, one of the greatest Byzantine buildings in the world. She is famous for her impressive size, remarkable architecture and beautiful mosaics and frescoes. I think I would pass out from this view.

5S3J7467_Hagia-Sophia_Istanbul_999x

Could you see me just lying down on the floor and staring for hours? I could.

8628346504_fdc88135ba_z

It’s on the bucket list. Hopefully one day…

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

