Pineapple Flowers

My mother has been taking cake decorating classes with Wilton and she comes home with these tiny masterpieces that are just stunning. Fondant flowers, ribbons, icing that looks like grass: it’s ridiculously awesome. I’ve been trying to come up with something to compete with her, but I haven’t outdone her yet. But when I saw LC’s post on these adorable (and edible) fruit flowers this week, I knew I had to try them out. I made not have outdone her carnations or lilies, but I’m pretty proud of myself.

PF_16

Aren’t they great? It was a fairly easy process (not) that made this pretty plain cupcake look ten times better. I love the burnt edges and the way it curled up. It really looks like a flower, but the best part is it’s edible! I am all about details, details, details. It’s the little things that people remember about a party, or anything for that matter.

So without further adieu, here’s how to make these precious things.

PF_01

So you’re going to need a pineapple, a melon baller, a cutting board and a big, huge knife. A chopping knife would have been better, but I didn’t have one. Other things that might come in handy are parchment paper, mini cupcake liners, patience, and a little John Mayer.

Oh, go ahead and preset your oven to 350 degrees. Don’t wait until the last minute like I always do.

PF_02

First, you cut the head and tail off.

PF_03

Then you strip it! Take all of the rind off of it.

PF_04

Then, you use your melon baller to scrap the “eyes” off. Those are the hard brown spots. SIDENOTE: Even there are not brown spots on some parts, scoop little craters anyway. The goal is to make your pineapple look like a bee hive.

PF_05

This is when a chopping knife would have been better to use. Cut THIN, almost translucent slices off. If you have some straight lines, use your melon baller to fix it. Line a cookie sheet with parchment (I only had foil) and lay out your slices. Obviously, your pineapple will cut a lot more than six. I only had four cupcakes, so I didn’t make many. If you’re decorating a cake, you’ll probably need a lot more.

Place your slices in the oven and bake for 30-45 minutes, flipping them about half way through. SIDENOTE: parchment paper is better to use because the flowers tend to burn and stick and it’s difficult to get them off.

So while my flowers baked, Mila and I hung out. She’s such a good helper.

PF_07

PF_09

When the flower’s petals start to curl and turn brown, they’re probably done. The thinner your slices the quicker they will bake. Take them off the cookie sheet, carefully, and place them in a cupcake tin. Place in the freezer for about 10 minutes or until they harden. You might need to form them into the shape you want. I used mini cupcake liners to help with this.

PF_18

When they are hardened, you get to play with them. On the left is one flower and on the right is two. I like the fullness of two better.

Here’s some up close and personal shots. I may be a little biased, but again, AREN’T THEY BEAUTIFUL!?

PF_15

PF_17

PF_16

I think the cake decorating genes are in me. There’s not doubt about it.

If you try these pineapple flowers out yourself (and I hope you will!), send me pictures! I would love to know your process stories and tips that might make this time-consuming process a little easier. I’m always up for learning short cuts!

Happy Friday, everyone!

PS: I am leaving tomorrow to go on a 7-day trip with my family to Massanutten, Virginia. We’re driving, so keep good thoughts in your heads that we have a safe trip. Oh, and get ready to see my Instagram explode!

SIGNATURE

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Flowers

  1. Kathryn says:

    This is both brilliant and lovely! I honestly never would have thought of it, but I’m determined to give it a try at some point. (Add it to the never ending to-do list, right?) But I’ll be sure to let you know how they come out. I wonder if there are any other kinds of fruit you could use?

    Hope you have a wonderful trip!

    P.S. Your pup is adorable. :)

    • Natalie says:

      Kathryn, thank you so much! They are great and perfect for all occasions. My mom said we need to have a Last Luau Horah end of summer party. They remind her of tropical flowers! I hope yours turn out good! Please send a pic!

      xo,
      Natalie

Leave a Reply

