My Week in the Mountians

I finally returning home from a week in Virginia with my family. We have had an exceptional time. Among the many deer and groundhogs, we’ve seen immaculate landscapes of the rolling Appalation mountains.

I’ve gotten to experience quite a few exciting things. If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve seen my trip captured there using a variety of hashtags: #osbornsgotova, #massanutten, or #familyvacation.

Those exciting things have been: slushing down giant water slides, floating in a lazy river, ziplining through the mountains’ canopies, weaving a miniature basket, visiting the stunning Monticello, pretending to be a NASCAR driver in a go kart, imitating Tiger Woods (and trying not to keep score) on the putt putt course, and discovering the breathtaking Shenandoah caverns. It’s been quite an adventure, for sure.

I think my favorite part was the caverns. It was the last thing we did and it just took my breath away. You’re standing on a pretty basic hill and it never occurs to you that 22 stories below is another world. My parents and I couldn’t sleep last night due to our fascination with it. We talked about them for an hour or so. We took turns reminiscing on our favorite formations or “rooms” as our tour guide called the areas that had really high ceilings. My mother mentioned that there was no way to deny that a “higher power” created that. And that’s where we left it. You can’t explain it. You can’t describe it. You just have to see it.

I’m sad that this week is coming to a close, but I’m fortunate to have spent it with my family while getting to do and see all the things we did. We did a lot of walking, that’s for sure, and our bodies feel like train wrecks. But it’s safe to say we all enjoyed every bit of it. I’m so glad we all got to spend this week together.

One thought on “My Week in the Mountians

Leave a Reply

