Recap: New York City

I just got in from the most amazing trip in New York City. It was my first time and with every corner we turned, I was more amazed with everything I saw. My friends and family have been talked to death about this trip and they will continue to do so until I feel I have expressed enough excitement or until there’s nothing else to say. I have pictures for days, stories for months and memories that will last a lifetime.

We flew out on Saturday morning, early, with a short layover in Charlotte. We arrived in NYC around noon and the weather was perfect. We took a taxi to our hotel and caught a glimpse of the city from a distance. When we arrived, I was floored with the design of our hotel. We stayed at the W on Lexington, which was decorated with hundreds of different textural materials. Pictures just don’t doesn’t do its justice.

IMG_8192

IMG_8190

IMG_8191

We grabbed a bite to eat at a spot down the street and waited for our private tour guide to come and get us. I’ll say this, I’ve been on a few tours in my day and this one was by far the best. Our guy, born and raised in NYC, took us everywhere and told us the most fascinating things about the city. There’s no way I could recite it all. A few of my favorite highlights, other than the main attractions, were the following photos.

The Dakota Building | where John Lennon was shot and killed

The Dakota Building | where John Lennon was shot and killed

New York Cancer Hospital | the first cancer hospital built by President Grant; he believed that you could catch cancer from corners, so he built a hospital with as few as possible.

New York Cancer Hospital | the first cancer hospital built by President Grant; he believed that you could catch cancer from corners, so he built a hospital with as few as possible.

The American Museum of Natural History | where the movie "Night at the Museum" was filmed

The American Museum of Natural History | where the movie “Night at the Museum” was filmed

Cathedral of Saint John the Divine | construction started in 1892 and is still unfinished, one of the oldest and largest in the country and it's sitting in Harlem

Cathedral of Saint John the Divine | construction started in 1892 and is still unfinished, one of the oldest and largest in the country and it’s sitting in Harlem

inside of the cathedral, you can see the unfinished stone walls, but it's in impeccable condition

inside of the cathedral, you can see the unfinished stone walls, but it’s in impeccable condition

President Grant's personal tomb | he never knew about this tomb, the people of NY thought he deserved his own final resting spot overlooking the Hudson

President Grant’s personal tomb | Across the street from the cathedral, he never knew about this tomb, the people of NY thought he deserved his own final resting spot overlooking the Hudson

Inside, his wife is next to him

Inside, his wife is next to him and they are in there!

Andrew Carnegie's home which is now the Cooper Hewitt musuem

Andrew Carnegie’s home which is now the Cooper Hewitt museum

Temple Emanu-El | where Joan Rivers private funeral was among others

Temple Emanu-El | where Joan Rivers private funeral was recently held

Of course the Empire State building was on the tour | fun fact: it has 73 elevators

Of course the Empire State building was on the tour | fun fact: it has 73 elevators

We ended our tour with the memorials of the World Trade Centers which were both very moving and fascinating. I never realized how enormous the area was.

Memorial of the South Tower

Memorial of the South Tower

The new Freedom Tower

The new Freedom Tower

And that was just one day. The rest of the time we were there was spent walking through the hotel show and around the streets. I already posted a bazillion pictures on our company’s Facebook page so if you want to go look at them you can.

Of course, we went to Rocketfeller Plaza and visited the famous ice skating rink, which is surprisingly small from what I imagined. Then, just as the sky got dark we hauled up 70 stories in a glass elevator that took 43 seconds to the Top of the Rock. What an amazing sight!

The Skating Rink at Rocketfeller Plaza

The Skating Rink at Rocketfeller Plaza

Top of the Rock

Top of the Rock

Looking up the Rocketfeller Building

Looking up the Rocketfeller Building

Across the street, was Radio City. I was kind of bummed we didn’t get to go in there.

Radio City Music Hall

Radio City Music Hall

 We ended the night with Times Square which looks like daytime because of all the lights. I’m sure I looked ridiculous just staring at it all. I love this panorama shot I got of it.

Panorama of Times Square

Panorama of Times Square

Times Sqaure

Times Square

There’s just too much to mention. It really was a fascinating experience that I will remember for the rest of my life. We did so much in such a short amount of time, that my brain is fried just from thinking about it too much. I lay awake at night and think, “Oh yeah, we went in Macy’s and Dylan’s Candy Shop!” as if I had forgotten for a split second.

I am forever grateful to my amazing boss for taking us.

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

