Tuesday Tips: Drinking More Water

I have a confession: I hate drinking water. It’s a real struggle to make myself drink more of it. Last year, on Thanksgiving, I had mild kidney stones and an infection to which kept me drugged up and sloppy all day during my family meal. I actually had planned to take pictures with my boyfriend around my grandfather’s barn and luckily was able to pull it off due to the excruciating pain and nausea. After that little incident, I learned to seriousness of drinking H2O. I wanted to share how I got myself to drink more water. It’s a simple rule, but it worked!

DrinkMoreWater

My Number One Water Drinking Rule

You have to determine how much water you need to drink. For me, that’s about 3 liters a day. So the rule I came up with is that I must drink a liter of water before each meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). I found this water bottle at Target that I can refill to keep me on track.

I fix my first bottle and try to drink it on my ride to work, since it’s about thirty minutes. By the time I get there, I’m finished and I have eat a little breakfast bar and fruit. If I want a cup of coffee, that’s okay, as long as I’ve had the water first. I start drinking my second bottle right after breakfast. I make myself finish it before moving onto lunch. And then it’s the same story after lunch—no dinner before the third bottle of water is finished. If I drink all three liters in a day, I reward myself with a sweet treat such as a cookie or two after dinner.

I had to train myself and it took a while. I still mess up, but I’m getting better. It’s a simple concept, really, but you’ll start feeling so much better within days if you stick to it. And an added bonus, you’ll be amazed at how much energy you have!

Do you struggle with drinking enough water too?

I hope my little trick helps!

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

