Christmas Goodies

Picture50

I have thoroughly enjoyed baking this holiday season. It brings back fond memories of when my grandmother Osborn was alive. She used to bake multiple tins full of goodies to distribute amongst the children and grandchildren. Since there’s no way I could possibly craft up the same treats she used to (and why would I dare?) I’ve decided to start a new tradition of baking.

This year I chose three homemade treats from a few of my favorite baking blogs. I am super proud of myself that I was able to master them to perfection.

09

10

11

Raspberry Almond Thumbprint Cookies

Mine didn’t turn out near as pretty as Sally’s, but they were so delish. These buttery vanilla cookies melt away in your mouth and have the perfect flavor, but it wouldn’t have been the same without the raspberry jam. The only thing I didn’t like about this recipe is the waiting game. You have to make the dough four hours early and then it’s so hard to deal with. It cracks all over the place; it’s frustrating. But they were worth the wait!

Lemon Cool-Whip Cookies

If you’ve ever been to Edgar’s Bakery and have tried the lemon squares, then you know how heavenly they are. But you’ll also know it’s about $15 for a box of nine. Well, this little cookie recipe is as close to heaven, without the hole in your pocket, as you can get. These lemon cool-whip cookies were so easy to make and are still soft even after three days and they might just be better than Edgar’s. Do I dare even say that?

Oreo Peppermint Bark

Another easy recipe, this Oreo peppermint bark went great with a cup of hot cocoa. I mixed mine up with almond bark instead of milk chocolate chips. It got hard super quick and the hint of almond was flavorful. Just a tidbit: make sure the peppermints are chopped fine because it can be a bit of a shock biting into a rock hard piece of candy.

07

01

12

02

03

I think the raspberry cookies are my favorite!

Happy Christmas Eve!

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

