Recap of Fourteen

hold the adventure in your fingertips - close enough to grasp yet loose enough you value every sensation & moment

Happy New Years Eve, everyone! I’m still trying to figure out plans for this evening, I know I’m a little behind. I’ll probably end up sitting at home with my lovie, watching the ball drop in NYC, wishing I was still there, and drinking some sparkling white grape juice. Yep, that sounds good. ;)

I’ve have procrastinated writing an end-of-the-year post because frankly I’m not ready to give it up yet. This year has been one for the books. As I sit here reflecting on all that I have done, I feel so small and humbled. Every year I make a bucket list of things I hope to accomplish. This year, I was able to cross off so many of those items. Most were firsts that had never been done before. I’m honored and blessed to have such a wonderful family and support group. Without them, this year would have been pretty boring.

I want to highlight some of the major things I did this year. Not to be selfish or rude, but more so for the walk down Memory Lane for myself. I took out my phone, opened pictures, and started from the top.

January – We received the biggest snow in my lifetime and it hit us like a ton of blocks, ice blocks that is. I, among the rest of Birmingham, was stranded in our cars for hours trying to make it home safely. After five hours home, when what should have been fifteen minutes, I got to play in the snow with my puppy. She didn’t know what to think about it.

February – For whatever reason that is still unknown, I decided to chop all of my hair off. Six years worth of hair. I don’t regret it, but I do miss my long hair from time to time. My niece turned two this year and has become such a little character. I love her enthusiasm and kind heart. She’s started this thing where she throws her hand up and yells, “Tootaloo!” when she’s leaving. It’s so stinking presh.

March – I graduated from college, with a 3.9 GPA! Woah! Never would I have thought that I would miss going to school, but I do. I miss my friends, my incredible teachers, and I miss learning. My graduation present was a trip that I will never forget. I girl’s trip with my mom and sister to our nation’s capitol. My sister was on work most of the time, so it was mostly just my mom and I. My mother spoiled me and we got to do so much together. From hiking four blocks in the rain to go to the zoo to the countless trips on the Metro, I’ll always cherish the laughs we had together on that trip. Not to mention all of the sights we got to see too: all of the monuments, Mt. Vernon, Ford Theatre, the Smithsonian(s) and more. If I were to rank the best days of my life, this trip would be cover most on that list.

April – My sweet Mila bear turned one this year. It’s been one hell of a year with her, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Also, this month I got to see my first professional hotel project all finished. I call it my baby, because I’m so proud of it. My boyfriend graduated this year, too! I’m so proud of him. We also celebrated our sixth year together.

May – I turned 22 this year, which is just an awesome number anyway. [Insert Taylor Swift song here.] And for my birthday, my boyfriend and I took a day trip Nashville. I had only been through it once before so this time I really got to experience it.

June – Nothing too exciting in June, but I did get to meet Paul “Bear” Bryant’s great, great nephews if that matters to anyone.

July – I finally got the nerve to quit waiting tables and it was the best decision of my life. I feel 100% happier and stress-free. I was thankful for the money, but the environment was sickening. I’m much better off. I went on an impromptu beach trip with my sister and niece to Carillion Beach in Florida, which was gorgeous. I totally want to own a house down there one day. My sister and I almost bought my grandmother’s old house. Almost.

August – My boyfriend left me for six weeks to do job training in Minnesota. That was long and lonely time, but so glad he got to experience a new city. Thankfully, he came home in time for my graduation party and to see me walk.

September – I always forget about this trip and I have no clue why because it was amazing. I also went to Virginia this year with my family and spent it in the mountains. We stayed at the Massanutten Resort. We saw live deer every day and got to play in this enormous indoor water park. Definitely a kid at heart. I also went zip lining for the first time, took a tour of Monticello, and saw caves that were hundreds of years old. I also joined Jamberry this month, which was an incredible decision.

October – This month consisted of a lot of Halloween/fall parties which were all fun. I finally got Jimmy to decorate a pumpkin: a milestone in our relationship. We dressed as a bubblegum machine and a lucky quarter. Hehe..

November – November was like the cherry on top. It kicked off with a Sam Hunt concert which was amazing. Holy moly. So much fun. And then even more amazing was my trip to New York City. Again, so much fun. My boss literally spoiled us and we had an incredible time. A four hour private tour of the city, dinner below and tour at the top of the Rockefeller, the Boutique Design hotel show, Times Square, Dylan’s Candy Bar, you name it. We saw it all in three days. Incredible.

December – This month has been pretty calm, which was much needed after the year I’ve had. I am so blessed beyond words. Is this year really over? It’s hard to believe that one of my favorite years of all time is coming to an end. Bibically speaking, the number fourteen means double perfection which is exactly how I feel this year was: perfection. I traveled to four new states and made memories to last a lifetime. It’s going to be pretty hard to top this year, but I’m ready for whatever happens.

New cities, new friends, new memories.

Bring it, Fifteen.

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

