My Reading Challenge for 2015

For more book fun, follow us on Pinterest = www.pinterest.com/booktasticfun and Facebook = www.facebook.com/booktasticfun

One of my goals this year was to was to read four books. That doesn’t seem like a lot, but it’s a lot for me. I hardly ever have time to just sit down and read. I’ve tried to read before bed, but it just makes me sleepy. So, I’ve resorted to listening to audiobooks while I drive to and from work. I crank it up loud and just drift away. Have you ever driven somewhere and forgotten how you got there? Your brain just navigates while your off in another world. That’s what happens to me when I’m caught up in a good book. The last audiobook I read/listened to was Eat, Pray Love. I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it yet!

This year, I’ve divided my four books into categories over the course of the year. If you think about it, there are twelve months and I want to read four books. That makes one book for every three months. I think that I should be able to handle it with no problem, and if I finish one early I can pick up another one for fun or try some poetry if I want.

I call it my 2015 Book Challenge. I call it a challenge because I want to venture out and try new genres of literature. I always resort to young adult romances and book-to-movies, if you will. But this year I want to be a little more cultured by trying things I wouldn’t normally read.

So for the first three months, January-March, I will reading an autobiography of someone I admire. I have a few ideas of who I want to learn a little more about: Eleanor Roosevelt, Chelsea Handler, Audrey Hepburn. A big gap, right? April-June I will be reading a classic fiction novel. These are the ones my English teachers assigned over the summer, and yet I never read. For July-September, the wonderful summer months, I want to read a good romance novel, yay! And lastly, for October-December, I want to round out the year with a mystery/drama book. I’m thinking I want to finally attempt Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, but again, spam me with your suggestions.

I definitely will be updating you with the books I choose and I hope you’ll try to join in and read them with me.

What are your favorite books of all time?

One thought on “My Reading Challenge for 2015

Leave a Reply

