Tuesday Tips

These chic desktops and home offices will inspire you to create the perfect workspace.

Previously this month on tip day, I have discussed keeping your bedroom, kitchen and closet organized and tidy. So, today I thought I’d end this month’s Tuesday Tips on the most important place for me: my desk.

Whether you work in an office or not, it’s important to keep a clean work area. Why? It clears your head, allows creativity to spread, and keeps you motivated and on track. Nothings worse than digging through piles of papers every day looking for something you need, or worse having candy wrappers or an orange peel under all of that paper. So, here are some of my tips when it comes to keep a neat and tidy desk.

30 Designers secret tips: Wonderful Home Decoration http://engelta.hubpages.com/hub/30-Designers-secrets-Wonderful-Home-Decoration

[ONE] Clear the Clutter Weekly. To keep your desk tidy year-round, spend a few minutes every Friday tossing or filing old papers and putting loose objects where they belong. This is a must for me. Ten minutes before the workweek is over, I take the trash out, clean out my coffee cup(s), and file away important papers. That way, Monday morning I come in with a fresh desk.

[TWO] Find storage solutions that don’t make you cringe. Desk storage is a necessity, but it doesn’t have to be an eyesore. From file cabinets to accessories, look for pieces with both form and function to foster your creative instincts. I love Target and TJ Maxx when it comes to storage containers.

[THREE] Keep cords out of sight. Nothing will taint your beautiful workspace like a tangle of cords. Feed cords though a hole drilled in your desk, and mount a surge protector on the underside. Or, if you’d rather manage cords sans any permanent damage to your furniture, use Velcro strips or zip ties to secure them into an organized cluster.

KATE SPADE INSPIRED OFFICE: white and gold #workspace design with glass #desk and modern style

[FOUR] Pick pretty stationary. Call me old-fashioned, but I’m nothing without my sticky notes and notebooks. It makes taking messages or reminders a little more bearable. Plus, it just looks pretty on my desk.

[FIVE] Accessorize. Investing in desk accessories that you actually like is as important as finishing off your outfit with that chic statement necklace or perfect pair of earrings. So if you’ve had your eye on a Lucite paper tray or gold push pins for a while now, go ahead and indulge in your desktop cravings. Coordinating containers not only look pretty, they’ll help keep you organized, too.

[SIX] Make an inspiration board. Instead of letting loose papers flutter around your space, keep a board of all the odds and ends that inspire you. A bulletin board is also a great place to pin small details you might otherwise lose like photographs and business cards. As a designer, it’s a must to stay creative and up-to-date on the trends of my industry. My inspiration board sparks new creativity when I’m stumped on something and reminds me of a new trend that I should try.

Keeping your life organized will battle stress and sanity. If you take the time to get all of the areas in your life clean and tidy, then you’ll be happier and worry-free.

I’m not an expert on everything…If anyone has tips on keeping your car clean, please share. That’s a difficult one for me!

photos 1\\2\\3

Leave a Reply

