Skinny Mojito

When I went to New York last November with my office peeps, my boss and her son got me hooked on mojitos. I’d never had one before and I can say I’ve had one of the best, according to them. The bartender at our hotel, the W hotel on Lexington, used 10 Cane rum and created the perfect mixture between mint and lime. I’ve yet had another like it. It was pure magic.

I saw this recipe for a skinny mojitoI knew I had to try it out based upon my new-found knowledge of the “perfect mixture.” I am trying to work on that bikini bod before summer, so I have to keep track of those calories. Yuck! This one has a total of 146, that’s less than a Coke! It wasn’t near as good as the one in New York, but it was good none the less. Especially, when you need a drink after a long day at work.

SkinnyMojito

Mojito1

Mojito2

Mojito3

Mojito4

Skinny Mojito
recipe adapted from Leaving The Rut

Ingredients:
2 ounces of white rum
8-10 mint leaves
1 lime, sliced
diet-tonic water (mini cans of Chek)
1/4 tsp. of granulated sugar

From the bar:
ice
muddler
glass

Directions:
Pick the mint leaves and put them in your glass. Squeeze several slices of lime into the glass and add the squeezed limes to the cup. Sprinkle the sugar into the cup on top of the limes and the mint. The sugar helps break up the mint leaves when you muddle it and releases the flavor. Using the muddler (or the handle of a wooden spoon) and moderate pressure muddle the limes, mint and sugar together. If you do not muddle them well enough you run the risk of not being able to taste the mint. Once, you start smelling the mint you’re muddled. Now fill your glass with ice almost to the top. Add 2 oz. of white rum. Top your drink off with the Diet-Tonic water, stir and serve.

Total calories: 146 – cha-ching!

PS: This is a great virgin drink, too. Just take the rum out and add a teensy splash of vanilla. Trust me, it’s goooooooood.
 Mojito5

Leave a Reply

