Recipe + Review: Cookie Love

CookieLove1

When is the last time you had a delicious homemade chocolate chip cookie? And I’m not talking about the package kind. I can honestly say it’s been a while for me. I typically grab one when I’m at Subway or at the kiosk in the mall, but I haven’t actually made some from scratch in ages. Since cookie baking is in my blood (my grandmother was a cookie expert), I figured it was time to break the streak.

Mindy Segal’s Cookie Love is a cookie encyclopedia full of every type of cookie you could imagine–drop cookies, shortbread, sandwich cookies, bars and more. No two recipes are the same and there’s even an entire portion in the back that teaches you basic steps for perfecting your cookie. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the short tidbits about how each cookie came to be. It was quite comical. The photography and presentation of the book is what sold me. I’m a person who enjoys the process of making–in this case, baking–things. Each photo captures the true art of baking and all the messiness that goes along with it.

Scoping through to find a cookie that spoke to me, there were a lot that caught my eye. I settled, happily, on the classic chocolate chip because I had all the ingredients at home. Besides, you just can’t go wrong with a chocolate chip cookie and a glass of milk.

Note: I am posting this as I go, instead of one large post at the end. I will be posting the finished product tomorrow in lieu of a Friday Favorites post.

CookieLove5

CookieLove2

CookieLove6

CookieLove7

CookieLove8

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 42 cookies. Adapted from Cookie Love by Mindy Segal.

Ingredients:
1 cup (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature 1 cup cane sugar 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar 1 extra-large eggs, at room temperature 2 tsp pure vanilla extract (I used Watkin’s) 2.5 cups unbleached all-purpose flour 1 tsp kosher salt ½ tsp baking powder ½ tsp baking soda 2 cups (8 ounces) chocolate chips

Directions:
Read all the way through before you begin.
The day before mix your butter in a stand mixer for 5-10 seconds. Add the sugars and beat until the butter mixture is aerated and pale in color, approximately 4 minutes. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula to bring the batter together.

Crack the eggs in a separate bowl and add the vanilla.

In another bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.

On medium speed, add the eggs and vanilla to the butter mixture, one egg a time, mixing the first briefly before adding the second, until the batter resembles cottage cheese, approximately 5 seconds for each egg. Scape the sides and mix for 20-30 seconds to make the batter nearly homogeneous.

Add dry ingredients all at once and mix on low speed until the dough comes together but still looks shaggy, approximately 30 seconds. Do not overmix. Scrape the batter and bring the dough together by hand.

Transfer the dough to a sheet of plastic wrap and wrap tightly. Refrigerate overnight.

***

The next day, heat your oven to 350⁰F. Lightly coat a couple of half sheet pans with nonstick cooking spray.

Using a small ice cream scoop or melon baller, portion the dough into 12 mounds. Evenly space the mounds on a prepared sheet pan. Bake for 8 minutes. Rotate the pan and bake until edges begin to caramelize and the tops set, approximately four more minutes. Let the cookies cool on the pan for 1-2 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack until they are cooled completely.

I will be baking my cookies this evening and will post an update tomorrow + plus more pictures! Can’t wait to share the final result… wish me luck!

 

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review. All opinions are honestly mine.

3 thoughts on “Recipe + Review: Cookie Love

Leave a Reply

