Summertime Food Challenge

RealFoodHeader

If you’re anything like most people in my generation, eating healthy is something that can only be processed in baby steps. If I came home to a house full of organics and greens, I would probably have a stroke. I started cooking with whole wheat and organic vegetables just a few months ago, but I still miss my snacks. It’s hard when they are so convenient to grab and run out of the door. Most people, including me, need to be weaned away slowly from eating the bad stuff, by incorporating fruits and veggies in every meal and tossing out the sugary stuff. Processed foods are just that. They are full of sugar and are one of the reasons why our country has seen more obesity in children than ever before.

But Doritos.

And Oreos.

Wait, fries.

And you can forget about Fruit Loops.

They are all so great, but can lead to a poor lifestyle later down the road. If we focus on our health now, we can cut out the risk for heart disease, diabetes, and other issues early on.

I searched for ways to make it easier to cut out processed foods and ranand found that’s it’s not as hard as it seems. I know, it seems impossible right now, but humor me. Very rarely am I offered a hamburger and say, “No thanks, I’ll just take a salad.” With summertime peeking around the corner and laughing at me because of my unhealthy body, there is no better time to start eating better. Plus, this challenge will force me to stay on track all summer long.

I found this 14-week real food challenge from 100 Days of Real Food. I highly suggest you read each week’s challenge through the Lisa’s website. She gives a great breakdown each week and shares recipes and tips on how to complete each week’s mini-pledge. I’m tackling it and I hope you will, too. It’s better when you have some to be accountable to.

Here’s an overview that I made of the program.

RealFoodChallenge copy

Not too bad, right?

Also, I found this great shopping list for beginners full of clean-eating items that I am going to stock my pantry with since my pantry basically looks like this:

Say goodbye to the Little Debbie cakes and frosted animal crackers. Say hello to a beach body that’ll last longer than just summer.

Are you ready to take the challenge with me? Follow along with me on Instagram as I post a weekly update on my food challenge. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

