How To Get Dressed

2015-05-11 23.25.16

One of my favorite aspects about getting involved in a show on Netflix is watching how the actors are dressed. It fascinates me. If you’ve noticed to the right on my page, my current obsession is Pretty Little Liars. I’m on season 5, so don’t say anything! But what’s bizarre to me is how these girls are dressed in highschool. It cracks me up. There’s no way I would have been able to get away with wearing mini skirts or sleeveless shirts, much less showing the entire school my chest region… cough, Hanna Marin.

2015-05-11 23.25.22

When I saw How To Get Dressed by Alison Freer, I had to check it out. It’s about a costume designer living in Hollywood and that’s all she does: shop/design/shop for the clothing actors wear. How fun of a job would that be? The first chapter is all about a day in the life of a costume designer, how her life revolves around the never ending battle of finding clothes for people. All day long. She has a team where each person has their own job, like one person just takes everything back that isn’t used.

The remaining of the book shares tips and tricks on how to make your clothes really fit, for every body type. This book is more of a styling kit or a magical bag of tricks, built to solve every single wardrobe malfunction on earth. TV and film productions wait for nothing, so her solutions have to work fast. If something goes wrong, she has to fix it quick.

According to Amazon:

Alison distills her secrets into a fun, comprehensive style guide focused on rethinking your wardrobe like a fashion expert and making what’s in your closet work for you. She provides real-world advice about everything style-related, including:

• Making every garment you own fit better
• Mastering closet organization
• The undergarments you actually need
• The scoop on tailors and which alterations are worth it
• Shopping thrift and vintage like a rockstar

Instead of repeating boring style “rules,” Alison breaks the rules and gets real about everything from bras to how to deal with inevitable fashion disasters. Including helpful information such as how to skip ironing and the dry cleaners, remove every stain under the sun, and help clueless men get their sartorial acts together, How to Get Dressed has hundreds of insider tips from Alison’s arsenal of tools and expertise.

2015-05-11 23.27.05

I think what I love most about this self-help book is the artwork and how the book is laid out. It’s unique and it keeps me intrigued. The language that she uses is comical and entertaining. I’m really glad I got the this book because I learned a lot about my personal body size and what types of clothing I should be wearing.

I received this book from Blogging For Books for this review. All opinions are honestly mine.

More reviews: Read my recipe + review on Cookie Love by Mindy Segal.

Leave a Reply

