CHS Trip: The Holy City

I am back from one of the best trips of my life. Charleston, you were so good to me. Perfect weather the entire time and the most delicious food I’ve ever tasted. I’m already counting down until my next visit. Over the course of the next few days, I will be posting about my trip: places we ate, visited, and discovered. I’ll show you the meals we ordered, desserts we devoured, and the gorgeous buildings we saw along we way.

st-michaels-charleston

The Holy City is just as beautiful as I imagined. The steeple skyline towers proudly over the historic buildings and residences as you enter the city. There’s a least a dozen churches, each one full of character and awe. My favorite, St. Michael’s, is located at the corner of Broad and Meeting streets, on one of the four corners of law. The oldest religious structure in Charleston was a beacon of hope during the revolutionary period. The church tower was a target for British ship gunners. In the hopes of decreasing it’s visibility the white tower was painted black, which sadly made it even more visible against the blue sky.

232323232-fp83232-ydnjthgqubwsnrcgu67;3-nu=3235-633-458-WSNRCG=4439;8345;325nu0mrj

232323232-fp83232-ydnjthgqubwsnrcgu-2;3-nu=3235-633-458-WSNRCG=4439;83898325nu0mrj

St. Michael’s is just one of the many awe-inspiring churches around Charleston. St. Matthew’s is another beauty. Beaming Gothic windows and red-painted doors, St. Michael’s possess the tallest spire of any of the buildings in South Carolina (hence why I couldn’t fit it all in one picture!). Resting on King Street and across from Marion Square, St. Matthew’s was fatally destroyed by a fire in 1965. The majority of structure was rebuilt, but the stain-glass windows under the apse and under the balcony as well as the pulpit inside are original to the building.

Other popular churches we did not get a chance to drive by are St. Philip’s and St. John’s, both equally gorgeous. Next time we visit, I’ll make sure to snap a photo of those.

SEE MORE: DAY ONE, DAY TWO, DAY THREE, DAY FOUR

2 thoughts on “CHS Trip: The Holy City

Leave a Reply

