Among Friends: Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

*This is not a sponsored post! I paid for this mix on my own and my opinions are honestly mine.

I took a day from my Charleston review because a) I needed time to edit the pictures and write the posts and b) this cookie recipe couldn’t wait.

IMG_0482

My boyfriend has a vary slight gluten issue in that he eats too much of it and it makes him sick. I’m not sure if he’s allergic or what, but needless to say when I cook I try to use as few “white” ingredients as possible. Just to be on the safe side.

He’s also a sweet junkie, as am I. We love to end a delicious meal on a sweet treat. It’s nature; we’re human. I think Jimmy’s favorite sweet treat is a delicious chocolate chip cookie. He loved the batch I made a while back using the cook book I received for testing, Cookie Love. However, they had a bunch of unhealthy ingredients including, you named it, gluten. I’ve been trying to get into a habit of removing those items in my meals, although it’s sometimes is innevitble.

IMG_0454

 That’s why when I came across this bag of cookie mix, I threw out a sigh of relief. Suzie and Lizann, the dynamic duo behind Among Friends Baking Mixes (and devout chocolate lovers!) found that everyone deserved a sweet treat from time to time, so why not create treats that are “full of the good stuff” and “free from the bad stuff.”

IMG_0451

CJ’s Double Chocolate cookie mix has all organic ingredients including certified gluten-free oat powder, cane sugar, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, ground flax seed, and coffee powder. (They also contain baking soda, sea salt, and SOY.) These are virtually the healthiest cookies on the shelf, and the teaspoon of vanilla gives them a rich flavor.

IMG_0458

IMG_0459

I threw a batch together and was so surprised that they didn’t taste like dirt! They honestly tasted delicious, if not better, than typical pre-mixed cookie mix. I feel good about having one or two (or three!) and I know that they aren’t going to make my lovie sick! I haven’t convinced him they are the world’s best cookies yet, but even he thinks they aren’t far off.

IMG_0461

IMG_0468

IMG_0472

I definitely stand behind this company and give them two thumbs up! They have quite a few other mixes listed on their website (I haven’t see all of them in stores) including fruit crisp and more cookie mixes.

CJ’s Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon butter
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°
  2. Empty mix in large bowl.
  3. Add 2 eggs and 4 T. butter.
  4. Beat on low speed or mix with fork until well combined. Dough may appear dry, but don’t worry, be happy.
  5. Roll dough in 1-inch balls and then sprinkle with granulated sugar.
  6. Place on cookie sheet lined with parchment.
  7. Bake 7 – 9 minutes until crinkly on top, but still soft in the center. Makes 34 cookies.

Make sure you look for Among Friends in your grocery store and give it a shot. You’ll be surprised, like I was, that even though they don’t have all the bad stuff that make typical cookies good, they are still wonderful to eat! And you don’t have to feel guilty about eating the whole batch in one sitting! PS: I did NOT do that! Okay, maybe I had help. Maybe I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

