Rustic Strawberry Peach Tart

IMG_0592

Peach season is just around the corner, the best batch comes around July fourth. An important tip for peach picking is to ask for the clear seed. They truly have the best flavor. However, you can pretty much start getting every other kind anywhere. I picked this batch up a few Saturdays ago along with a batch of strawberries. I ran to Pinterest for the perfect recipe to use them for. That’s when I found this rustic tart on Sally’s Baking Addiction.

IMG_0595

I found a great tutorial for peeling peaches. It was so easy and I was so thrilled to not have to cut them on my own. All you have to do is bring a pot of water to boil and fix another bowl with ice cold water. Put one or two peaches in the boiling water for 30 seconds and then immediately place them into the cold water for 10-15 seconds more. Then, you can pinch the skin of the peach and it will peel right off like magic.

IMG_0596

I cut the peaches and the strawberries up and tossed them in a bowl with a couple of teaspoons of sugar along with a fourth of a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I set that aside while I prepared the pie crust. I’m not brave enough to make my own like in Sally’s recipe, especially when the Pillsbury ones are soooo good.

IMG_0597

I spread the crust around a round Pyrex dish and spooned the fruit towards the center of the crust. As you can see, I think I put too many strawberries because the juice leaked out. I would suggest not filling it all the way up. However, it was still delicious. I folded the crust around the fruit as you can see in the pictures and then brushed a beaten egg wash on top. Lastly, I sprinkled a little extra sugar on the edges and baked it on 350 degree for 15-20 minutes, or until I saw it getting slightly brown.

IMG_0599

You can’t really see in the pictures, by I drizzled a homemade vanilla glaze on top which consisted of confectioner’s sugar, milk and vanilla extract. Sally mentions this recipe towards the end of the tutorial. It was heavenly. I ate around three “slices” and didn’t feel bad about it at all. After all, it’s mostly fruit so it’s a win-win. For complete instructions on this rustic strawberry peach tart, visit Sally’s Baking Addiction where I adapted mine from. It’s devilish!   If you haven’t entered the Zoës Kitchen $40 Value Giveaway, head over there now!

One thought on “Rustic Strawberry Peach Tart

Leave a Reply

