No-Bake Energy Bites

This no-bake energy bites recipe is made with healthier ingredients and is super easy to make. They are perfect for a post-workout snack or a quick grab ‘n go treat!

nobake

Hooray for no-bake energy bites!

These no-bake energy bites are all over Pinterest and there are tons of different versions of them. I first saw the recipe from Gimme Some Oven, one of my go-to food blogs for inspiration. I’ve made them a handful of times and each time I’ve tweaked them to my liking. I’ve finally found the perfect ensemble that I love.

IMG_2586

This recipe calls for:

  • old fashion oats
  • chocolate chips (I prefer the mini chips)
  • honey
  • vanilla extract
  • flax seed
  • peanut butter

IMG_2591

To make these no-bake energy bites, just mix all the ingredients together in a big bowl. I use a rubber spatula because I’ve found it’s easier than a metal or wooden spoon. If you really want, you can get down and dirty and mix it with your hands.

IMG_2594

Once the mixture is combined, store your bowl in the fridge for about 30 minutes to allow it to get hardened. This will help make it easier to roll into balls.

IMG_2596

The best part of this recipe is you can you get to be a chemist in your own kitchen! You can roll it into balls or roll it out flat to make bars. You can add or subtract whatever ingredients you’d like. Play around different chips or if you’re not a chocolate person you can leave this out all together. You can substitute the peanut butter for almond butter or another butter that you like. If you don’t particularly like honey, you can try agave or maple syrup. I love wildflower honey, so that’s what I used for this recipe. It’s not as thick as clover honey. Mix up seeds and try sunflower seeds, chia seeds, or your favorite ground nut. The list goes on.

IMG_2598

I have created a PDF version of this recipe for printing. You can print it here.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

