The Honest Kitchen Review

IMG_2670

In the last couple of years there’s been a huge urge to eat organic. It’s not an uncommon thing to see the labels gluten-free, all-natural, whole wheat, lighter fare plastered all over restaurant menus and in our grocery stores. There’s no need to shop at special supermarkets because you can find the healthier option right beside the not-so-healthy option in just about every grocery store. We take pride in our newfound eating habits. Personally, I purchase these things as well because of all of the terrible research I’ve read in the past three-to-five years regarding processed foods.

But why are we still feeding our furry children this stuff? For the first year I fed my dog puppy Beneful until I was utterly shocked when I read hundreds of reviews of this formula causing so many life-threatening diseases and even deaths to dogs all over the world. Note: my dog has not suffered from any of these things, but I wasn’t going to sit around and find out so I switched immediately to Purina Light and Healthy.

IMG_2690

I’ve seen dozens of organic, all-natural pet foods pop up at the grocery stores: Blue Buffalo, Simply Nourish, Nature’s Recipe, Only Natural Pet — the list goes on. I’ll be honest, I haven’t tried any of them so I cannot tell you how good or bad they are. I do not even know any of the details of their formula or their company. But what I can give you a review on, is The Honest Kitchen.

Honest-Kitchen-Logo

human grade dog and cat food

The Honest Kitchen, a human grade pet food company, prides themselves in their “quality of ingredients, our careful process of dehydration and our commitment to product quality.” They have the one-and-only FDA approved company that can use the term human grade on their packages. Human grade means that the product is technically “edible” for people. The Honest Kitchen foods are made from “pure, clean, ingredients that are sourced responsibly, directly from human food suppliers.” Even CEO Lucy Postins tastes every ingredient used, and every finished product made.

The Honest Kitchen so graciously sent me a sample box of Revel Chicken Recipe for my Mila Bear to try. Doing this photoshoot with her was hilarious, hence the blurry photos. I mixed 1/2 cup of the dry mixture with 1/3 cup of warm water. I waited 3 minutes, as the box described, before giving it to her. I tried to snap a few photos, but Mila was so impatient. When I finally gave her the go, she had no problem gobbling it up.

IMG_2692

IMG_2694

IMG_2696

IMG_2702

Even though it looks like baby poo, it didn’t smell horrific like most dog foods do which made me trust the ingredients even more. I did not wean Mila off her food before giving it to her, but she didn’t have any issues with it after. I was so pleased that it didn’t make her sick! I highly recommend The Honest Kitchen for your dogs (they have cat stuff, too!). They have a variety of flavors and even yummy cookies.

IMG_2712

The Honest Kitchen is Mila-approved! She gives them two ears up!


Just for fun: Sometimes it’s fun to show behind-the-scenes looks. I just had to snap this photo of Mila cleaning up my “studio”!

Mila cleaning up the "studio"

Disclaimer: I received promotional products for this post, however, they are ones that I would purchase myself. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

