Inexpensive Watercolor Art

IMG_3190

There are a ton of free prints online that you can download and use as wall decor. I personally love the watercolor prints, so I went to the web to find a few to use in my room. I found the super popular pink lips and a pair of leopard smoking flats that I knew I wanted to try.

IMG_3181

So, I downloaded the file and opened them up in Photoshop. I scaled it to fit on a standard 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper. Then, I saved them as PDFs and sent them to Office Depot to print. I printed them on white canvas paper, so the watercolor would look original. You can see a close up shot of the small basketweave texture below. Each print cost me around $10 for color. They did a great job with the print and the image wasn’t blurry or fuzzy at all.

IMG_3182

Next, I hit the road to find some frames. I was shocked when I found these at Walmart for less thanΒ $10/each! And they even come with a white mat. They look like wood, but are actually plastic. You’d never know the difference.

IMG_3183

I used a piece of doublesided tape the tape the image to the mat, so it wouldn’t slide.

IMG_3184

And bam.. inexpensive watercolor art. All in all these prints cost me $40, but when you think about the price of the individual print, I more than doubled my savings.

IMG_3187

IMG_3188

It’s so cheap, that it’s addicting. I’ve done quite of few of these for birthday gifts and other gallery walls in my home. The secret’s out!

2 thoughts on “Inexpensive Watercolor Art

  1. Meredith says:

    OMG, those frames from Walmart are what I need! The mat really makes all the difference in making a print look nice. I found a ton of prints for less than $5 on Etsy – totally heading to Walmart for these frames too.

Leave a Reply

