3 Alternative Coat Closet Ideas

The foyer is the first thing people see when they walk into your home, so it’s imperative you make a great first impression. You know that yucky coat closet that just gets piled with junk? Yeah, I’m talking about that one.

What if you changed the purpose of it, but made it more usable?!

I have a fairly large coat closet right inside my front door. The doors are all jagged and dark, so I wanted to do something a little different with it that didn’t cost a lot of time or money. Here are three alternative ways you can use your coat closet, without losing the storage. I can’t decide which one I’m going to try in my own home! They are all so clever!

Remove the doors and add a piece of furniture. 

917ee709258bdc7898e441b44c4a7ffe

I love, love, love this idea. It’s so elegant. If you didn’t need your coat closet, this would be an excellent idea. Besides, you’d have drawers for your keys, mail and what-nots.

Remove the doors and make it a mud room.
For this tutorial, click here. 

5c68317602619448659db7e1c80316d5

This is more than likely going to be my solution, because I’ve always wanted to do something like this. I think it’s good-looking, yet makes sense.

Remove the doors (or not!) and add a pop of color or pattern. 

9 Places to Add Color Where You Least Expect It | Apartment Therapy:

This is a great way to add that pop of color you’ve been dying to have. You could also do a bold horizontal stripe in muted colors just for that extra oomph!

There’s one common denominator: remove those doors! I hate the doors that are on my coat closet anyway, so the first thing I’m going to do is chunk them! Now, should I add a chest, create a mud room, or paint the interior?

Leave a Reply

